Poem #96

Lo Caesar! so Caesar!

O Captain! my Captain! our fearful trip is done…

from “O Captain! My Captain!, by Walt Whitman
Lo Caesar! so Caesar! your hard-fought term has ceased,
The law is immersed in red ink, the precedence we debated increased,
Our home appears, the convention congregates, its audience overtures, “four more years”.
When farewell succeeds their dreams, the orator dares them to be wheels of the gears.

Yet Democracy! my Democracy! weak Democracy!
O your bright bigots of instrumental hate
proceed to write grammar of indecency,
tho’ their southern rhetoric from specters in confederate refrain to our civil war symposiums since are late.

Lo Caesar! dear Caesar! how do we instruct equality in old white men?
I listen to you speak, “Yes, we can…” again, again, and again.
It’s January and I think upon brother Malcolm and pastor Junior Martin.
Help me, great activists, to accept the courage to change the things I can.

When my Caesar retires, fearful without answers from my own rigorous reflection,
hours passing in posit of what outcomes and what action,
I am reminded of compassion, to sit down with opposition,
to discuss our separate views, to come to a conclusion.

When we think, clearly think, what is the problem that needs to change?
When we write, “We the People” it is limited in range.

Leave a Reply

